US residential solar · 2026 data

Off-Grid Solar Kits in 2026: Sizes, Battery Needs and Tax Credit Status

Est. net savings

$3,800

Estimated output of a 2 kW array in Phoenix (about 2,280 in Seattle) · no federal credit

2,280 2 kW array, Seattle (est. kWh/yr)
3,800 2 kW array, Phoenix (est. kWh/yr)
3.4 Example cabin load (kWh/day)

Typical result:

  • **Array size** = daily kWh ÷ (sun hours × 0.8)
  • **Battery size** = daily kWh × days ÷ 0.8 DoD
  • LiFePO4 is the common battery chemistry in modern kits
  • Federal 30% residential credit **ended after 2025**
✓ EIA rates & NREL sun data ✓ 2026 federal policy applied ✓ Open methodology
· 7 min read ·By

Numbers on this page are built from public data

Editorial policy No paid placements
Last updated
Data approach EIA rates · NREL sun hours · 2026 federal policy · methodology

2026 update: the 30% federal residential solar tax credit (§25D) ended for systems installed after December 31, 2025. Figures on this page that subtract a 30% credit no longer apply to 2026 purchases — installed cost is the full price. We are updating this guide; see our 2026 tax credit checker and methodology.

Disclosure: links marked † are affiliate links — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our calculations. Details

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links to Shop Solar Kits. If you purchase through our links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect how we explain or size systems.

An off-grid solar kit bundles solar panels, a battery, an inverter and a charge controller so the parts are matched before they reach you. To size one, work from your daily energy use: divide your daily kWh by your location’s peak sun hours and by 0.8 (a typical allowance for system losses) to get the array size, then size the battery for at least two days without sun.

One important 2026 change: the federal 30% residential solar credit (Section 25D) ended for expenditures made after December 31, 2025. Kits bought and installed this year generally do not qualify. Details are in the cabin section below.

Last reviewed: September 29, 2026. Figures marked “estimated” are calculated from the formulas shown, not measured from specific products.

How to Compare Off-Grid Solar Kits

This guide explains how to size and compare kits by use case. It is not a ranking of named products, because the right system depends on your load, not on a single “best” model. Compare kits on five specifications: battery capacity (kWh), usable capacity after depth of discharge (DoD), solar input (watts), inverter continuous output (watts), and the manufacturer’s technical support and warranty terms.

Usable capacity is what matters. A 5 kWh battery rated for 80% DoD delivers 4 kWh you can actually use. Skip any kit that does not state its DoD.

Example off-grid kit configurations by size

ConfigurationSolar inputBattery (LiFePO4, nominal)Usable at 80% DoDInverterArray output at 4 sun hours*
Starter 200W200W500Wh400Wh300W~640Wh/day
Portable 400W400W1,000Wh800Wh700W~1,280Wh/day
RV / Van 800W800W2,000Wh1,600Wh1,500W~2,560Wh/day
Cabin 2kW2,000W5,000Wh4,000Wh3,000W~6,400Wh/day
Homestead 5kW5,000W10,000Wh8,000Wh5,000W~16,000Wh/day

Calculated as panel watts × 4 peak sun hours × 0.8 system efficiency. These are typical configurations for planning, not specific products. Check current prices and specifications on the retailer’s product page before buying.

Run the numbers for your state

The savings calculator loads your state's average electricity rate, sun hours and net-metering rule. Then enter your own bill and installer quote.

Free · No signup · Runs in your browser

Starter Kits: 200W–400W for Camping and Emergency Power

The 200W–400W range covers weekend camping, van supplemental power and home emergency charging. At this size you can power phones, a laptop, LED lights, a fan and possibly a small efficient refrigerator, but not an air conditioner or power tools.

Check battery chemistry first. LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) batteries are commonly rated for thousands of charge cycles, while deep-cycle lead-acid batteries typically last a few hundred to about a thousand cycles depending on how deeply you discharge them. Confirm the cycle rating on the datasheet rather than relying on the label alone. For broader cost context, see our guide to how much solar panels cost.

If you want a pre-built option, Shop Solar Kits†{rel=“sponsored nofollow”} sells kits in this range, and a promo code (WAYSENG101) may apply at checkout. Check current terms and shipping availability for your country.

RV and Van Solar Kits: 600W–1,200W Systems

Full-time van dwellers commonly use about 60–100Ah per day at 12V, which is roughly 720–1,200Wh. An 800W array with a 2 kWh lithium battery is a common configuration for that load: at 4 sun hours it yields about 2.5 kWh/day, leaving headroom for cloudy days.

The critical choice in this range is the inverter. A 1,500W pure sine wave inverter handles most RV appliances, such as a coffee maker (about 1,000W) or a CPAP (roughly 30–60W). Modified sine wave inverters cost less but can cause problems with sensitive electronics and some medical devices, so use pure sine wave for anything you cannot afford to damage.

Roof area is usually the real limit on array size in a vehicle, so compare panel efficiency as well as wattage. Use our off-grid solar system size calculator to match panel and battery size to your daily load.

Cabin and Homestead Kits: 2kW–10kW Systems

At 2 kW and above, off-grid solar becomes a primary power source. The example below shows a modest cabin load. These are planning estimates for a typical efficient setup, so measure your own appliances with a plug-in energy meter for a real budget.

Horizontal bar chart of an example cabin daily electricity budget totaling 3.4 kWh per day, led by refrigerator at 1.5 kWh and chest freezer at 0.8 kWh
Example cabin load budget (estimate). Values are illustrative planning figures for an efficient cabin, not measurements.

Chart summary: This example cabin uses about 3.4 kWh per day. The refrigerator and chest freezer together account for 2.3 kWh, about two-thirds of the total, so an efficient refrigeration choice cuts system size more than any other single decision.

Now check the battery against that load. A 5 kWh battery at 80% DoD provides 4 kWh usable, which covers this cabin for only about 1.2 days without sun. For two days of autonomy you need 3.4 × 2 ÷ 0.8 = 8.5 kWh of nominal battery capacity, so a 2kW/5kWh kit suits this load only if you have reliable sun, a backup generator, or a lower load.

Federal tax credit status for 2026. The Section 25D residential clean energy credit, which allowed homeowners to claim 30% of qualifying solar costs, is not allowed for expenditures made after December 31, 2025, per IRS guidance on the One Big Beautiful Bill Act. If your system was installed and in service in 2025, you may still be able to claim it on your 2025 return. For 2026 purchases, look for state, local or utility incentives and consult a tax professional.

For systems above about 5 kW, use a licensed electrician even with a pre-built kit. Many jurisdictions require permits for larger systems, and wiring must follow the electrical code adopted where you live (in the US, the National Electrical Code as adopted locally).

What to Check Before Buying Any Off-Grid Kit

Four specifications separate a well-matched kit from a poorly matched one.

  • Battery voltage. Above about 1 kW, a 24V or 48V system is preferable to 12V. For the same power, a 48V system carries one quarter of the current of a 12V system, which cuts resistive wiring losses to roughly one sixteenth.
  • Inverter output type and rating. Pure sine wave is recommended for motors, compressors and medical devices. Match the continuous rating to your largest load, and allow for motor start-up surges.
  • Charge controller. MPPT controllers can harvest noticeably more energy than PWM controllers, with the biggest gains in cold or low-light conditions. Confirm the controller’s maximum input voltage and current exceed your array’s output.
  • Regional compatibility. US kits typically output 120V at 60Hz, while Europe and the UK use 230V at 50Hz. Confirm the inverter output matches your appliances before ordering.

If a product listing does not state these specifications clearly, treat that as a red flag.

Design for your location’s sun, not a national average. Solar output varies widely by location and season. The chart below estimates annual output for a 2 kW array using approximate annual-average peak sun hours (Seattle 3.9, Miami 5.4, Denver 5.7, Phoenix 6.5), multiplied by 2 kW, 365 days and a 0.8 system efficiency.

Bar chart of estimated annual output of a 2 kW solar array: Seattle about 2,280 kWh, Miami 3,150, Denver 3,330, Phoenix 3,800
Estimated annual output of a 2 kW array by city. Calculated as 2 kW × approximate peak sun hours × 365 × 0.8. Actual output varies with tilt, orientation and shading.

Chart summary: A 2 kW array produces roughly 2,300 kWh per year in Seattle versus about 3,800 kWh in Phoenix, so the Seattle array makes around 40% less. These are annual averages: winter output is far lower in northern locations, so size an off-grid system for the lowest-sun month. For your address, run NREL PVWatts in the US or the European Commission’s PVGIS in Europe.

Use our battery bank size calculator to size storage from your daily load, and see our guide to best states for solar ROI for location context.

Sources

This article is general information, not tax or electrical-engineering advice. Consult a qualified professional for your installation and tax situation.

Frequently asked questions

Direct answers for US homeowners.

Start with your daily energy use in kWh. Divide it by your location's peak sun hours in the lowest-sun month, then by 0.8 to allow for system losses, to get the array size in kW. Example: a cabin using 3.4 kWh/day in a location with 3 winter sun hours needs about 3.4 ÷ (3 × 0.8) ≈ 1.4 kW of panels. Vans and RVs commonly use 0.7–1.5 kWh/day, cabins with a refrigerator and freezer roughly 3–5 kWh/day. Check your local sun hours with NREL's PVWatts (US) or the EU's PVGIS (Europe).

Popular state solar guides

Electricity rates and incentives vary — see data for your state.

View all 50 states →

How these numbers were calculated

Electricity rate
18.19¢/kWh — US average residential price. Source: EIA Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.B (year-to-date through July 2026), residential average retail price (July 2026) (EIA)
Solar production
4.5 peak sun hours/day × 0.82 system derate. Approximate state-average daily solar resource (peak sun hours) based on NREL solar resource data (NSRDB); not location-specific — use NREL PVWatts for an address-level estimate. (NREL PVWatts)
Installed price
$3.00 per watt before incentives. Blended 2026 US residential installed price used by this site; EnergySage marketplace reported about $2.60/W (mid-2026); full-market medians are higher.
Federal tax credit
$0 for homeowner-owned systems installed in 2026 — the 30% §25D credit ended Dec 31, 2025 (IRS)
Net metering
National blend — solar assumed to offset 75% of the bill (87% in full-retail net-metering states, 55–70% elsewhere).
Model
Version 2026.10 · 3%/yr electricity price escalation · 0.5%/yr panel degradation · simple payback = installed cost ÷ year-1 savings
Policy checked
· Full methodology · Report an error

Estimates only — not tax, legal or financial advice. Get at least three installer quotes and confirm incentives with your utility and a tax professional.

Calculate my savings →